Parallels constantly expanding taking up disk space

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by DannyD2, Mar 22, 2018.

1. DannyD2

DannyD2 Bit poster

Hi There,
    I am an Electrical contractor and I use parallels just to run a windows estimating software package on my Mac.
    I have to keep making the partiion larger as windows is constantly expanding, if I dont I get loads of error messages due to lack of disk space.
    I only want to use the estimatimg software and no other windows programmes, how can I delete unwanted files or prevent disk space from being taken up by windows constantly expanding/slowing down parallels ?
    How can i check which files are taking up all my windows partiton? Or is a virtual machine a mirror image of my mac files just in a windows version?
    I dont want to use boot camp!

Thanks in advance !

2. Arun@Parallels

Arun@Parallels Parallels Support

Hi @DannyD2 , please go to Actions > Manage Snapshots and check if you have any snapshots taken , if yes please delete it and check if that helps.

3. DannyD2

DannyD2 Bit poster

Hi Arun,
    Thanks for your reply.

I checked the snapshots and there wasnt any.

Any other ideas ? I only want to use the estimating software ?

My free ani virus software did a scan and says that theres 92gig of junk files ?

4. Hi DannyD2. Please refer this article and make sure that Smartguard feature is unchecked and refer this article to check the actual size of the virtual machine. Also, to increase the performance of the virtual machine, please contact your antivirus support and add an exception for Parallels Desktop and the Windows virtual machine.

5. GilbertoR1

GilbertoR1 Bit poster

I too have the same problem. I have a MB Air with 256GB capacity.