Window cut off, not showing full app

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by fwtepp, Sep 3, 2012.

1. fwtepp

fwtepp Bit poster

Hi, I'm new to Parallels an fairly new to the Mac. I've just installed Parallels 8 and on some programs, like Firefox, everything is fine and it shows the full window, but on other programs I only see 1/4 of the window. This is not an issue of these programs not being maximized or not setting them to full screen view. On one of them it shows the full screen while it loads a file but then snaps to the 1/4 screen after that. And I don't mean it's showing in a small window, I mean half of the side and half of the bottom is cut off.

Any ideas?

Fred

PS: I've added a screen shot. As you can see, it's only 1/4 of the interface. That's with the app maximized too. If I set it to not be maximized then the Parallels window is even smaller and it moves around when I drag the app within it.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
  2. fwtepp

fwtepp Bit poster

I've tried searching for an answer but haven't turned up anything. Anyone have any suggestions?

3. Icewind

Icewind Bit poster

I don't have an answer, but I wanted to mention that I'm having the same problem with Coherence Mode in Desktop 8. Applications that worked fine in Desktop 7 Coherence Mode are now being cut off as you describe in Desktop 8.

You should definitely put in a problem report if you haven't already.

4. rmanley99

rmanley99 Bit poster

Found this sometimes happens here too with Retina:

I find PD8 works best when you disable the Retina options under hardware->video - It then behaves more like we were used to before. The clipping problem also goes away in coherence.

5. Icewind

Icewind Bit poster

That did the trick for me, and also fixed a wacky Windows resolution problem I was having with external monitors. Thanks for the workaround!

That's 2/3 of my open support tickets. :)

6. serv

serv Forum Maven