Ubuntu 11.04 support for Parallels Tools

Discussion in 'Linux Virtual Machine' started by BenBecker, Apr 6, 2011.

1. BenBecker

BenBecker Bit poster

Hello,

While attempting to install Parallels Tools on Ubuntu 11.04 (x86_64), I encountered some errors during the kernel build process. I created the attached patch (untested and unsafe as it removes dentry locks that I'm not familiar with) in order to get the kmods to build on Ubuntu 11.04's 2.6.38-8-generic kernel.

After applying the patch, the installer successfully builds the kernel modules, but fails with:

It looks like somebody took a very similar (and more accurate) approach here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Parallels#Installation, but as I have no experience with X, I'm not sure how to proceed...

Any help implementing support for xorg 1.10 on a x86_64 Parallels guest, or information on when this will be officially supported would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

-ben

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  2. mohdf

mohdf Member

any updates on this issues ?

3. JasonV

JasonV Bit poster

It would be nice to have an official response on this. I'd like to see the Parallels Tools working--I cannot properly test this for my customers otherwise.

Thanks,

-- Jason

4. Matthias03

Matthias03 Bit poster

Yes, please

I can understand not offering anything for the beta release of Ubuntu 11.04. Well, it's no longer beta, it was released today (04/28), and the issues we've been experiencing with the beta, still exist.

I can post the error log if necessary. Since it's rather easy to re-create, I won't.

Please let me know if you need logs.

Thanks

5. John Stalberg

John Stalberg Bit poster